Sunday’s Cooking

For some, Sunday is a day of rest, ordering take out and staying out of the kitchen. I don’t know any of these people, but I hear that there are some. For me (and more) it’s a day of big cooking because it offers a chance to cook/bake so that you have stuff that’s easy for the rest of the week. Here’s what I did so I have easy food for at least part of the rest of the week

  • Hard boiled eggs – These are great for salads, sandwiches or even to eat on their own with a little salt and pepper. I’m more likely to get enough protein if I have these on hand ready to go otherwise it might be a crap shoot.
  • Roasted nuts- I made some of these sweet (with Splenda) and some of them savory (with some spices from the kitchen). Some of them got a little burned. Oops.
  • Cookies - Some to share and some for me. Hey! A girl needs a treat here and there.) I made some peanut butter with Pretzel M&Ms, had plans for some Peanut Butter & Jelly and some Sugar with Dark Chocolate M&Ms but that didn’t come to pass and some Oatmeal Craisins that will be baked maybe tomorrow night – but they’re ready to go and chilling.
  • Vegetarian Chili – I usually make mine with turkey or lean beef, but as part of the Pantry Challenge I’m going vegetarian for this batch and it smells wonderful.

I know it might seem like a lot, but when you’re multi-tasking it goes much faster. For instance, my Sauce got started while the eggs were cooking, the first batch of nuts was in the oven and I made the first batch of cookie dough etc. I can not wait to have a real oven so I can run more than one tray of things at a time!

Do you cook/bake more on a Sunday than other days? What did you make today?

#sundayscooking

3 Responses to “Sunday’s Cooking”

  1. Sue Says:

    Uh huh, you know at least one person for whom Sunday is a day of rest and takeout.

    Usually. I broke that rule today for you, and the guest post I sent.

  2. derryX Says:

    I told you they burn easy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

