Two fruits and a protein!

smoothieDid you know that every work day, I start my day with a smoothie? Sometimes on weekends too. I find that it’s a nice way to keep me full for several hours in the morning because I don’t slam it and run out the door.

Actually I rarely start it before I get to my desk in the morning and then sip it throughout the morning til about 10am or so.

I usually pick two different frozen fruits and a complimenting flavored yogurt for my day. The frozen fruits go in my Magic Bullet Blender and sometimes the yogurt does too. (Note that some people use fresh fruit and ice and that’s all well and good, but I’m not a fan of the “watered down” feeling you get when the ice melts. By using frozen fruit, I avoid that.)

Two fruits and a protein are a good way to start my day.

Most days I eat the yogurt separately because I don’t love the consistency when I mix it in, but I’ve found a Lime flavored Greek Yogurt by Yoplait that when I mix it with frozen pineapple? It tastes like dessert!

And who doesn’t want to have dessert for breakfast? (Today’s was sliced pear, frozen pineapple and the Lime Greek Yogurt.

Now for the how to: (if you’re not sure…)

Pick two kinds of fruit you like. Some of my favorite combos? Cherry and Strawberry, Pear and Pineapple, Strawberry Peach…oh basically they all taste good. Put some of each in the cup. Add some water, usually I fill it about 3/4 of the way up or a little less. Put the blade in and give it a blend. Sometimes I have to add more water.

If you want to add yogurt, I recommend adding it between the two fruits (either a container if that’s what you have or about half a cup from one of the tubs) It seems to blend better if you put it between the fruits.

By the way, if you’re using half frozen and half fresh fruit? Don’t use as much water or it’ll be runny and put your fresh fruit on top – again, it’ll blend more easily.

You can also go with Peanut Butter and a sweet fruit like Raspberry for a Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothie!

Can you do this in a regular blender? Sure you can, but then you have to clean the big blender, with my Magic Bullet Blender, it’s just the one cup that I wash out at work and take home. And bonus! It’s already in it’s own to go cup.

Do you have smoothies? What do you put in yours?

***

Products mentioned in this post are just ones that I use because I like them. No compensation was given by any of the companies listed above for this post although if they wanted to send me something to review I’d welcome the opportunity.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

