Don’t mess up childhood favorites! Just say, “NO!”

Emphatically even.

When we were younger and crunched for time (and I imagine money sometimes too) Momma would make Chips and Cheese for snacks or dinner. Corn chips with shredded cheese sprinkled over it in the microwave for 20-45 seconds depending on how much was there. The idea was to get the cheese gooey but not bubbling/hard. It was pretty much a science that as we got older would often make for ourselves when Momma was out and about or we were just plain hungry.

I always had mine with salsa. Sometimes I’d put it under the cheese. Oh man it was good…

Last night I got home late from the pool and wanted something quick and warm for dinner. I had baked Tostitos Scoops and salsa but thought dinner needed something more. As I poked around in my fridge, I found shredded fat-free cheddar and shredded mozzarella. I figured the mozzarella wouldn’t be as great on the salty goodness of the Scoops so I opted for the fat-free cheddar.

Not my best move. Not even close.

I realize that fat-free cheese isn’t regular cheese and therefore wouldn’t measure up to my memories/desires, but this was just not good. Luckily the salsa covered it up and I ate it. I promptly threw the rest of the bag away. Now, I’m not sure where it came from (not to worry, it was fine to eat) but I can say that I will not be purchasing it. (Again?)

While not my worse culinary mistake ever it was NOT the Chips and Cheese of my youth.

Have you ever had a time that you tried to make something you’ve made 1,000 times and it just didn’t work? What was it?

 

One Response to “Don’t mess up childhood favorites! Just say, “NO!””

  1. A Childhood Favorite with a Twist: Italian Chicken « Cute~Ella Cooks Says:

    […] talked about one of my childhood favorites before and here is a nother […]


Leave a Reply

