Peanut Butter Banana Bread

bananaface

(NOTE: That? Is my general eating a smooshy banana face. That was not my face eating the Peanut Butter Banana Bread)

Even though I don’t really like them, I continuously buy bananas to eat a few times a week. Mostly they’re for days I know I’ll have to have a quick, portable blood sugar pick me up – like the days I run and then teach for a couple of hours. Plus they have a lot of vitamins and nutrients that are good for me. (Sometimes? I still make that face when I eat them though if they’re too squishy.)

Occasionally, though I don’t eat them in time and they get spotty and brown. For me to eat a banana it has to be JUST ripe. Slightly green is OK too or yes, I make that face you see there.

Yesterday, I had some bananas that I didn’t eat last week and they were D-O-N-E. Done. I also felt bad that I didn’t eat them and didn’t want to toss them, so I figured I’d try my hand at banana bread. It can’t be that hard right?IMG_2999

First, I did some googling and found this recipe. It seemed simple so I figured I couldn’t mess it up too much. Hopefully.

(I only used the 3/4 cup of sugar. I don’t like things overly sweet.)

According to the instructions, I melt the butter and put the bananas in the bowl. Although it says you don’t have to use a mixer, I like mine and used it. Plus as long as you don’t overwork the batter, it makes things fluffier. I put the eggs, sugar and vanilla in too while I was at it and mixed it until just about smooth and gooey. Then a little more to make it fluffy.

Once that was done, I smashed up about half a cup of peanut butter chips I had left over from some cookies I made and threw them into the mix. I mixed that a bit and then added the salt, baking soda and flour. At this point it was looking pretty gross so although I took photos I won’t post them here.

I had enough batter for a regular loaf pan (top measuring 4×8) and a mini one (top measuring  3.5×6.5)

Here’s the thing. The recipe says that it should take an hour to bake. The smaller one took about 45 m in and the bigger one took about an hour and 5 min or so. (Towards the end (after the hour was up) I forgot to set the timer and was just checking it every few minutes. I would say to start checking every few minutes and poke it with a toothpick to see if it’s done.

IMG_3031The outcome? It looks really good and tastes good. I’m not sure it really tastes like Bananas OR Peanut Butter, but I like it and that’s what really matters right?

In the future, if I want something with a distinct banana and peanut butter flavor, I think I will make banana muffins with a peanut butter like frosting. Although this was very good. It wasn’t quite what I was hoping for.

Have you made peanut butter banana bread? My friend suggests this one and I’m inclined to try it next time I have bananas that need to be used.

Do you have any suggestions for overripe bananas? Do share!

I’m going to go have another piece before I go to bed.

2 Responses to “Peanut Butter Banana Bread”

  1. Grace in Small Things: 2011-6 « Cute~Ella is… Says:

    […] Cooks Peanut Butter Banana BreadA NY Goodbye – Apple […]

  2. Peanut Butter Banana Bread Take Two « Cute~Ella Carries Says:

    […] Butter Banana Bread Take Two March 1, 2011 — cuteellaisbold I tried this one again with a couple of […]


Leave a Reply

