Sweet Peppers and Potatoes

Reposted from here.

It seems I have the ability to look at my fridge and create a meal out of whatever is in there – other than cereal and sandwiches too! Some of my favorite dinners are out of just whatever I had on hand. I also rarely use a recipe and sort of wing it for the most part. The results are usually pretty good…

The other day I was thinking about what I was going to do with some veggies that were in my fridge (red, yellow, and orange peppers specifically) and how I could incorporate them into a meal.

I remembered that I had some chicken that I had cooked earlier in the week and decided that it would be a delicious combo with some spices. I also decided that I didn’t feel like having rice for dinner, I wanted potatoes. Here’s what I ended up with:

Dinner was awesome There you have 3 smallish Yukon gold potatoes, about a chicken breast sliced and cooked and about half a pepper each of red, yellow and orange peppers with some diced onion I had left over for a little something extra.

The potatoes were sliced and started cooking in a Pinot grigio and pinch of kosher salt. I sprinkled them with a bit of chili powder for some sweet warmth and garlic pepper for a little kick.

I sliced up the peppers and tossed them in with the potatoes and diced onions to cook a bit. (Please note that I cook most of my veggies only a bit because I like the firm texture.) Stuff was starting to stick so I added the sliced chicken, drizzled about 2 Tsp of vegetable oil over it and stirred it around.

Then I sprinkled a little more chili powder on, gave it another splash of Pinot for fun and covered it for a bit to cook.

Once I figured everything was done I took the cover off and let the juice in the bottom of the pan thicken a bit.

Then I enjoyed about half of it for dinner that night and half for lunch the next day. I’m sorry that the internet doesn’t have scratch and sniff capabilities because this smelled simply awesome. One of the best parts was that according to my calculations this came in at about 390 calories, 7gs of fat and 6.5 g of Fiber for each of the servings. (Please note that I’m not a nutritionist or anything of the sort, I can do math though.)

Do you cook with a recipe or just toss together whatever you have on hand?

Leave a Reply

