Cooking Fear Conquered – Yeast

Once upon a time, I was terrified of one ingredient that is a staple in some of my favorite foods. I would shy away from it and skip any recipe that called for it. What was it?

Yeast.

excerpt from a post on “fear”

Another (albeit totally irrational) fear was the fear of baking with yeast. No joke. I was basically terrified to try to ever make bread, pretzels or my own pizza dough. Who knows why – my guess is that it had more to do with the fear of failing at something than anything else. I don’t do failure well at all…But this was one that I had to overcome.

“Fear of failure must never be a reason not to try something.” – Frederick Smith

So I tried it. I purchased the supplies, got a baking stone (at the urging of a fellow Twitter person) and yesterday, with no other plans than to clean my apartment and get things in order, I did it.

I made bread.

I found a recipe, prepped the yeast, measured flour and mixed. And mixed. Then I let it sit. It got bigger just like it was supposed to do! I smooshed it back down a few times and let it get bigger again. I shaped and baked. And it worked. It was actually pretty good.

60032_727492003192_16113675_40001059_5068210_n

“Nothing in life is to be feared. It is only to be understood.” – Marie Curie

I wasn’t completely happy with the results of the first batch so I did it again. This was the end result:

58288_727433560312_16113675_39998572_3580203_n

I found it to be pretty easy and truth be told? I’m damn proud of myself for not only the finished product, but for facing that fear head on and winning.

What ingredient or process are you afraid of? Why are you afraid of it? Are you willing to try it anyway?

5 Responses to “Cooking Fear Conquered – Yeast”

  1. KicknKnit Says:

    If you ever want tips on baking with yeast or bread baking at all, gimme a holler. I have some training and some professional experience. I LOVE making bread. Also.. if you ever get a chance to take a non-credit course on bread at SCCC with Chef Krebs, I highly recommend it. The man is a genius with bread.

  2. Stew Says:

    I still have trouble with yeast. It always ends with something I could put a string on and whup the bejeezus out of somebody with, even if it tastes decent.

    • cuteellaisbold Says:

      I often have a similar problem that the crust could kill someone if I were to smack them about the head with it, but the inside is perfect. If I figure out what the hell is going on, I’ll let you know!

      • Stew Says:

        My crusts are thin and crisp, but the innards and dense, like peel off the outside, put the insides in a sock and beat someone dense.


Leave a Reply

