“Buffalo” Chicken Chunks

Even though at times I take the time to do things up right in the kitchen, I can be totally honest with you and say that there are nights I take some serious shortcuts.

This particular “recipe” is one of those serious short cuts.

Remember when I made that huge amount of chicken and put a lot of it in the fridge for later? This is some of that chicken. (Don’t worry, it hasn’t been hanging out since then, I’m just getting around to posting this!) Today I give you “Buffalo” Chicken Chunks.

I put “Buffalo” in quotes because I’m pretty sure the actual sauce is more complicated than mine.

IMG_3040For this bit of yummy, you need three things. Spray Butter, Frank’s RedHot and Chicken in a microwave safe dish.  You can use real butter, butter spread or margarine if you’d like, but I have an aversion to added fat in foods so I like this spray. You just want a little bit of the butter flavor here so if you’re going to use real butter, use just a pat or so.

Are you ready for how easy this is? OK!

Spray the butter on the chicken. It doesn’t need to be totally coated, but you want a decent amount in there. For this one serving I used about 15-20 sprays.

Shake some Frank’s RedHot in there. I gave it about 8 or so shakes. If you like it hotter, give it more, if you don’t like it with so much heat, don’t give it as much.

Give it a stir (or shake if your dish has a cover) and put it in the microwave for about 45 seconds. See if your chicken is warm enough. If it’s not warm enough, give it another 45 seconds.

When you take it out, it might be hot so please be careful. I don’t want you to burn your fingers.

That’s it for the chicken. No joke. Buffalo Chicken Chunks of chicken right there for you.

Now for the salad part.IMG_3042

Open bag of salad mix and put some on a plate. Slice up some radishes and put them on. If you want other veggies to go in, that’s awesome, toss them on there. Sometimes I put onions and chick peas on, sometimes snow peas or edamame. this is one of those Whatever’s Clever moments and salads are a great way to get extra veggies in your diet.

On this one, I added some Garlic Herb Feta I had on hand and the sauce from the “Buffalo” Chicken Chunks instead of a dressing.  I could see a little bit of bleu cheese or ranch dressing being a great addition to this salad but I can attest to the fact that it is great on its own.

I’ve made this a few times now and each time I make it a little different. Next time? I’m totally making it with carrots and celery!

What would you put on a salad with “Buffalo” Chicken Chunks?

As usual, I received no compensation for using these products nor do I believe you HAVE to use these particular brands. It’s what I had on hand.

2 Responses to ““Buffalo” Chicken Chunks”

  1. Sue Says:

    That sounds delish. I would probably use blue cheese on mine, and add celery and carrots (raw, natch), like you mentioned. Also, tomatos and maybe some of those tortilla strips that you can find near the croutons. Friendly’s makes a similar salad and puts those in – yummy.

    I might be having this very soon for dinner.


Leave a Reply

