I Like a Little Kettle in My Corn

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE Kettle Corn. Other than caramel corn, it’s my favorite way to eat popcorn. The best I’ve had so far is this kind that you can get at the Daytona Flea Market or order online, but I love most of it – so much so that I often have some microwaveable 100 calorie bags on hand just to get a fix.

The other day I wanted some kettle corn and didn’t have any to put in the microwave so I looked online and found this recipe. (My added notes are in italics.)

Ingredients
* 1/4 cup vegetable oil
* 1/4 cup white sugar (Plus a couple of tablespoons for the end)
* 1/2 cup unpopped popcorn kernels
* A healthy pinch of kosher salt and some in a shaker for taste

Directions
Heat the vegetable oil in a large pot over medium heat. Once hot, stir in the sugar and popcorn. Cover, and shake the pot constantly to keep the sugar from burning. Once the popping has slowed to once every 2 to 3 seconds, remove the pot from the heat and continue to shake for a few minutes until the popping has stopped. Pour into a large bowl, and allow to cool, stirring occasionally to break up large clumps.

How hard could that be? Here’s what I did. (I changed just a couple of things.)IMG_3518

I used my tall stock pot for this adventure. It’s the one I use when making homemade popcorn so that there’s enough room for the popping action.

(What? You’ve never made it? Oh dear. You MUST try homemade popcorn if you like popcorn. It’s so much better!)

Now, I did put the vegetable oil in the pan and heated it up but instead of just putting the sugar and popcorn kernels in, I put a healthy pinch of kosher salt in first and stirred it around the oil.

IMG_3519Once it seemed evenly distributed, I put the sugar and 3 kernels of popcorn in the bottom. I do this to gauge when it’s hot enough to go. (A trick an old friend taught me.)

When they pop, put the rest of the popcorn in and give it a good stir.

They will start popping almost right away so give it a few stirs and get a cover on that pot quickly! You don’t want popcorn all over the place…at least I don’t.

It’ll take just a few min to get it all popped. You want to pay attention and listen carefully because you do not want this to burn.Also, I found it helps to shake the pot over the heat (a strong circular motion will suffice) to keep it from burning on the bottom.

Once the sound slows to 2-3 seconds between pops turn the heat off and let it sit for a few moments. It may continue to pop as the final kernels get settled. IMG_3521

Let it cool for a few moments so you don’t burn yourself and sample a few pieces. Note that some may be burnt and that’s typical but the rest is delicious.

Here’s where the “to taste” comes in. When I tried it, it wasn’t sweet enough so while it was still warm, I shook about 1/8th of a cup of sugar while I carefully stirred it around. When I tasted it again, I felt it needed more salt so using my regular shaker, I gave it a few shakes and stirred some more.

Add these parts a little at a time and get it just right for you!

How about you? What’s your favorite way to eat popcorn?

One Response to “I Like a Little Kettle in My Corn”

  1. Sue Says:

    My favorite popcorn is fresh, warm movie popcorn made with real butter. Yummmmmm…..


Leave a Reply

