Sharing is Caring – Homemade Ketchup

Welcome to Sharing is Caring Thursday where I will share a post from someone else’s blog, site or news with you and give some of my thoughts on it too. You might recall that I cook and feed people as a way to show my love for them so I’m looking at this as a way to continue showing my love for others.

***

From 52 Kitchen Adventures…Homemade Ketchup!

When most people are asked what they want on their fries or with their eggs? A lot of people will tell you – ketchup. (Although it was only reported ONCE when I asked what people’s favorite condiment was. Yes, I asked this.)

When we go out to eat at several places, the waitress will invariably bring ketchup to the table or make sure that it’s full.  You want anything harder than that? Mostly you have to ask for it. I dislike being a pain though for fear that a grumpy waitperson will take it out on my food, but I have to be because I don’t like ketchup normally. (I know! I’m weird. I’m over it, but sometimes people look at me like I’m a freak of nature for this.) There are a few things I do like it on occasionally (sweet potato fries, tatertots, meatloaf to name a few), but for the most part I find that Worcestershire sauce, Italian dressing or Frank’s Red Hot makes the food more enjoyable. I don’t even think I have any ketchup in my house.

That said, I was intrigued to see this recipe and am going to try it. It seems like an easy one to play with and make my own…perhaps a little spicier?

From Serious Eats, with [their] notes added

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 28-oz. can tomato puree
  • 1 T tomato paste
  • 1/2 C packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 C apple cider vinegar (I added another 2 T)
  • 1/2 t kosher salt (I added another 1/4 t)
  • 1/2 t ground mustard
  • 1/8 t ground cloves
  • 1/8 t allspice
  • 1/8 t cayenne pepper

Over medium heat, heat oil in a medium saucepan until shimmering. Add in chopped onion and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5-8 minutes, until the onion is softened but not browned. Stir in garlic and cook until fragrant (about 30 seconds). Add tomato puree, tomato paste, brown sugar, vinegar, salt, ground mustard, cloves, allspice and cayenne pepper. Stir together and bring mixture to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until reduced to thickness of ketchup (around 45-60 minutes).

Place mixture into a blender or food processor and process until completely pureed and smooth. Place a fine mesh strainer on a large bowl and push ketchup through (you will need to force it through with a spatula, but the vast majority should be able to pass through).

Taste finished ketchup and add additional seasonings to taste. I added additional vinegar and salt at this point.

Store ketchup in an air-tight container in the fridge for up to 3 months.

What food do you not typically like that everyone else seems to LOVE?

***

If you have a post to share, please feel free to send it on over for me to share with others! It should be cooking or food related and lets aim for positivity!

#SharingisCaring

Leave a Reply

