Sharing is Caring – Broccoli Salad

Welcome to Sharing is Caring Thursday where I will share a post from someone else’s blog, site or news with you and give some of my thoughts on it too. You might recall that I cook and feed people as a way to show my love for them so I’m looking at this as a way to continue showing my love for others.

***

One of the great food blogs I found through @derryX has to be Big Flavors from a Tiny Kitchen. Her recipes generally appeal to my taste and for the most part seem easy. Her love of food really comes through in her writing.

This particular recipe, I picked because it’s a dish that one of my aunts makes and it’s so yummy. You might not expect that the ingredients would come together so well, but it totally works out.

Broccoli Salad
This is one of my favorite salad recipes. It’s a kind of strange combination of ingredients, but works incredibly well together. The dressing is light and creamy, and there are a variety of textures within the salad. Be forewarned – this is super addictive and you might end up regretting having 4 giant helpings of it. This is easy to put together and makes a ton. Leftovers are great for a few days – if they last!
BigFlavorsXSi07282009-124
4 cups broccoli flowerets, about 1 1/2 pounds
1 ½ cups green grapes, seedless, halved
1 cup celery, chopped
1 cup raisins
¼ cup sunflower seeds
⅓ cup light mayonnaise
¼ cup fat free plain yogurt
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon white vinegar

Combine the first 5 ingredients in a large bowl.

Combine mayonnaise and remaining ingredients, stirring with a whisk. Pour dressing over broccoli mixture, and toss well. Chill for 1 hour.

(Photo from here)

Truth be told, that’s not quite how my aunt makes hers, I don’t recall their being grapes in it, sometimes diced apples and she always tosses in some bacon which is a welcomed addition.  Regardless, it’s something I plan on bringing to the table soon.

What “odd” combination of food did you try in a dish or salad that you never expected to be delicious, but in fact it was?

***

If you have a post to share, please feel free to send it on over for me to share with others! It should be cooking or food related and lets aim for positivity!

#SharingisCaring

3 Responses to “Sharing is Caring – Broccoli Salad”

  1. derryX Says:

    Too bad you’re not coming on June 11. Ashley (Author of Big Flavors from a Tiny Kitchen) will be there!

    • cuteellaisbold Says:

      I know! I wish I could too. If by chance I get into town before the show I have to go to, I’ll check in, I’d love to meet her and visit your party. Have fun!

  2. Sue Says:

    I’ll be there on the 11th. I second derryX’s comment, “too bad you’re not coming….” 😦

    Anyhoo – I was at a shower last week where someone brought a salad made of grapes and walnuts, mixed with a dressing made of cream cheese, sour cream and brown sugar.

    I (clearly) didn’t get the full recipe with measurements and all. I actually didn’t even try the salad since it reminded me of jello, which frightens me. But this salad made me think of that salad, so I figured I’d share.


Leave a Reply

