Home Made Whipped Cream

IMG_3842Whenever I really want to impress someone (or myself) with a dessert and it includes whipped cream, I always make it from scratch. Considering how easy it is, I’m surprised more people don’t!

(I once taught a non-cook to do this in about 10 minutes and they’ve done it again and again since! You can do this too.)

Here’s how I make it.

For a good sized bowlful you will need:

  • 8 oz of COLD Heavy Cream.
  • Tablespoon or two of Sugar (or Splenda, whichever you prefer)
  • Teaspoon of Vanilla Extract for regular (Almond, Mint whatever flavor compliments your dessert, be careful with citrus flavors, they might change the texture of it)
  • A metal or glass bowl
  • A mixer

Simple stuff, yes? You probably already have everything except the heavy cream and Stewarts sells that if you don’t want to go to the grocery store.

Achem. Anyway!

So first, you want to do this in a metal or glass bowl because they can get cold. The one I use is a metal one that holds about 2 quarts. And you want everything really cold because it helps with the whipping, so I put the bowl and beaters in the freezer for a bit before I’m going to make the whipped cream.

Frost on the bowl is a good thing.

Pour the cold heavy cream in the cold bowl. Add flavor and sugar and mix on low setting to get bubbles formed. Now turn it up to medium until it thickens a little and then I like to go to high to finish.

Here’s the thing about fresh whipped cream…it looks like not much is happening and you might want to give up. Don’t! You want to give it a little longer and all the sudden POOF! Whipped Cream.

It’s important to stop when it forms peaks. For those of you who might not know what this means, if it’s leaving pretty design lines in the whipped cream and they’re staying pretty? Well then you’re done. Don’t over whip it or you’ll end up with a consistency more like butter than whipped cream. Tasty yes, but workable? Not so much.

There you have it! Fresh, home made whipped cream in under 10 minutes (not counting chilling time) any time you want.

Your diet hates me. I know. So you’re going to try it, right?

One Response to “Home Made Whipped Cream”

  1. BatGirl Says:

    I love homemade whipped cream! Oh so yummy! My mom always does it this way too. I on the other hand, am a dirty slacker.


Leave a Reply

